30 Day Yoga Challenge – Followup

FullSizeRender-7

Okay, so I realize I failed to offer updates on my 30 day yoga challenge. Here’s the rundown, I did not take one yoga class everyday for 30 days in a row. I did take 30 yoga classes in 30 days, some days I took two classes. I quickly came to realize that as a full-time yoga teacher, having one day a week that does not include yoga is important for me. The first week was really rough. I found myself exhausted and, well, hating yoga. Making time to take a yoga class everyday left me struggling to find time to prep for the classes and clients I teach, and have enough down time each day.  By the second week I was starting to feel physically stronger, a lot of my regular aches and pains had disappeared, and I began to fall into the routine of taking classes. I had truly settled into my new schedule by the third and fourth weeks, and it felt manageable.

When I started the 30 day challenge I was struggling to get myself to class regularly – I was falling back onto excuses instead of finding the discipline needed to maintain my own practice amidst a busy teaching schedule. Post 30 day challenge I have settled into a routine of taking a yoga class five days a week. I have also been reminded of how important it is to have that time on my mat to quiet and calm my mind and take care of my body. It was a challenging month, but it got me back into a healthier routine. Quite, honestly, I forgot to write about my experience earlier because I simply continued going to classes as May rolled around.

About DjunaPassman

I practice and teach yoga. I attempt to carry what I learn on my mat and through my students into the real world. Sometimes I am successful and sometimes I am grumpy and less than kind. I started life as a dancer, moved on to choreographing, worked as a dance/movement therapist, then realized the wonders of a regular yoga practice. I am a realist - whether the glass is half full or half empty you are bound to spill its contents if you are wearing white (this is why I wear black so often). I am not an expert on yoga, life, or anything else for that matter. I do my best to keep my mind and my heart open every day (some days are better than others).
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

