30 Day Yoga Challenge

FullSizeRender-6

I’m sure many of you have heard about 30 day yoga challenges – the ones where students take 30 yoga classes in 30 days. I’m sure some of you reading this have completed 30 day yoga challenges. (Go, you!) Well, guess what, yours truly is embarking on one this April. Getting onto my yoga mat daily is nothing new, but I have never taken a yoga class every day for 30 days in a row. So why do this? Well, to be honest, I haven’t been getting to classes regularly, and when that starts to happen my home practice slides and my teaching becomes lackluster. I’ve been working a lot lately and dealing with some injuries. In other words, I’ve been great about making excuses and proclaiming I don’t have time, i.e., I have been choosing not to make time for my yoga practice. The 30 day challenge eliminates the ability to make excuses. Show up to class every day, period.

I’ll share some of the key factors I considered when deciding to take this challenge in case you are interested in joining me this April, or challenging yourself at some point in the future. Some contracts and long-term subbing jobs I had will be ending in April, freeing up time in my schedule. I chose a studio where I already take classes regularly and feel comfortable. I’ll let you in on a secret, I hate trying out new studios, it makes me super anxious and I get intimidated easily (yes, even when it comes to yoga). This studio has four locations throughout the city I live in, all of which are conveniently located near my home or near the homes of the private clients I teach. It is important that I do not add lengthy commute times to my schedule each day. I already spend a lot of time commuting to the classes and students I teach each day. All of the locations have classes throughout the day. Waking up at the crack of dawn to squeeze in an early class before I start my day or taking a late night class at the end of my day are not enticing options for me. It is key for me to have classes offered at times that easily fit into my schedule. This studio is already hosting a 30 day challenge for the month of April. Participants were asked to sign up in advance, and those that complete the 30 days are eligible to win some pretty great prizes in a raffle at the end of the month. It is helpful for me to commit to something in writing, not just in my own mind. I also like the idea of knowing that other students in classes are partaking in this challenge as well, even if I do not directly know anyone else who signed up. For me studio accessibility, class times, commitment, and community are key pieces in ensuring I can actually complete this challenge, while maintaining my sanity.

I’ll check in with you each week to let you know how things are going. If you have any words of wisdom from 30 day yoga challenges you have completed, please share.

About DjunaPassman

I practice and teach yoga. I attempt to carry what I learn on my mat and through my students into the real world. Sometimes I am successful and sometimes I am grumpy and less than kind. I started life as a dancer, moved on to choreographing, worked as a dance/movement therapist, then realized the wonders of a regular yoga practice. I am a realist - whether the glass is half full or half empty you are bound to spill its contents if you are wearing white (this is why I wear black so often). I am not an expert on yoga, life, or anything else for that matter. I do my best to keep my mind and my heart open every day (some days are better than others).
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

