Lessons from Nature

IMG_9995

Nature is a great teacher and a great healer. I escaped the city because I needed some space, I needed a change of scenery, I needed to shake everything up to gain a new perspective. I needed to see beauty to believe there is still beauty in the world. I needed to breathe big breaths, cry big cries, and begin figuring out how to let go of big things. I needed nature to guide me.

The leaves know how to let go. They do not fight or resist. They accept they cannot stay green forever, so they turn brilliant shades of yellow, red, and orange.

IMG_9998

They accept they cannot hang on to the limb forever, so they let go. They simply let go.

IMG_9971Why, as humans, do we resist change when nature so easily shifts through the seasons? A tree does not freak out or lose its roots because its leaves are changing colors or falling off. A tree stays steady and strong through all of the seasonal changes.

IMG_9983

I spent a lot of time pondering change, letting go, and trying to deeply connect to my roots, my unshakeable foundation that feels a little shaken and cracked at the moment. Nature knows how to shift, change, let go, and start anew when it is time. I too, as painful as it may feel, can shift, change, and let go so that I may start anew when it is time.

Nature offered me what I believe to be a sign, an offering that I can blossom through this season of my life, in the form of a single purple (my favorite color) flower.

IMG_0007We all have the power to shift, change, and let go as beautifully and seamlessly as nature does…if only we would allow ourselves to.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

About DjunaPassman

I practice and teach yoga. I attempt to carry what I learn on my mat and through my students into the real world. Sometimes I am successful and sometimes I am grumpy and less than kind. I started life as a dancer, moved on to choreographing, worked as a dance/movement therapist, then realized the wonders of a regular yoga practice. I am a realist - whether the glass is half full or half empty you are bound to spill its contents if you are wearing white (this is why I wear black so often). I am not an expert on yoga, life, or anything else for that matter. I do my best to keep my mind and my heart open every day (some days are better than others).
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

