Rumi for Rough Times

This has been a rough week on multiple fronts. Despite my best efforts I have sort of resigned to the fact that this is just going to be a rough patch of time and I am going to have to muddle through it. Poetry often helps me in times like these so I have been turning to two of my favorites lately, Rumi and Leonard Cohen. I’ve also been drinking lots of tea and eating lots of oranges. Below is one of my favorite poems by Rumi.

The Guest House

This being human is a guest house.

Every morning a new arrival.

A joy, a depression, a meanness,

some momentary awareness comes

As an unexpected visitor.

Welcome and entertain them all!

Even if they’re a crowd of sorrows,

who violently sweep your house

empty of its furniture,

still treat each guest honorably.

He may be clearing you out

for some new delight.

The dark thought, the shame, the malice,

meet them at the door laughing,

and invite them in.

Be grateful for whoever comes,

because each has been sent

as a guide from beyond.

About DjunaPassman

I practice and teach yoga. I attempt to carry what I learn on my mat and through my students into the real world. Sometimes I am successful and sometimes I am grumpy and less than kind. I started life as a dancer, moved on to choreographing, worked as a dance/movement therapist, then realized the wonders of a regular yoga practice. I am a realist - whether the glass is half full or half empty you are bound to spill its contents if you are wearing white (this is why I wear black so often). I am not an expert on yoga, life, or anything else for that matter. I do my best to keep my mind and my heart open every day (some days are better than others).
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Rumi for Rough Times

  1. anna mosca says:

    Rumi has helped me a lot too this week (hard one) and I really welcome this one you shared, thank you!

Leave a Reply

